Four Holidays of the Apocalypse

Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s and Valentine’s Day are hell for some
people.  They’re all about gathering and love and gifts.  Who
knows how many people genuinely enjoy them.  They are stressful;
think of the family arguments, the stress of choosing the right present
and the challenges to a person’s budget. Think lonely hearts and
grieving exes. 

Give yourself permission to ignore the holiday, take a year off from holidays, pretend you’re from a culture that doesn’t celebrate those American holidays… Find new ways to spend the days. On Thanksgiving, go somewhere outdoors that’s usually too crowded.  You’ll have the place to yourself.  On Christmas, go to a Chinese restaurant.  On New Year’s go to bed at 10 and get up at 6. On Valentine’s Day, go to the zoo. Get a joke book out of the library or go online and read a joke-of-the-day. Get inventive.
Here are a few references I found that made the idea of the four holidays of the apocalypse even funnier.

Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse are described in the last book of the New Testament of the Bible, called the Book of Revelation of Jesus Christ to Saint John the Evangelist at 6:1-8. The chapter tells of a “‘book’, or ‘scroll‘, in God‘s right hand that is sealed with seven seals“. The Lamb of God, or Lion of Judah, (Jesus Christ) opens the first four of the seven seals, which summons forth four beings that ride out on white, red, black, and pale horses. Although some interpretations differ, in most accounts, the four riders are seen as symbolizing Conquest,[1] War,[2] Famine,[3] and Death, respectively. The Christian apocalyptic vision is that the four horsemen are to set a divine
apocalypse upon the world as harbingers of the Last Judgment.[1][4]
Retrieved from the internet December 23, 2012
The Four Horses of the Apocalypse are some of the mythical
unleashed in the Red Dead Redemption Undead Nightmare DLC
pack. They are War, Famine, Pestilence, and Death.

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.